Yoga Philosophy Course Online

In this most amazing and Structured
Yoga Philosophy Course,

What will you learn?

Module 1 - Introduction to Yoga

Origin of Yoga and Yoga Philosophy.

Meaning of word Yoga. – Yoga word comes from Yuja, which means to connect. So when we practice yoga, we learn to connect with self, with others and with the Divine. Yoga begins by connecting with self – first understanding one’s nature and situating oneself in that by using one’s talents and nature to absorb into the kind of work which suits to one’s nature.

Need of discipline / regulation on the path of yoga – Discipline or regulation is the preliminary requirement to progress on the path of yoga. Human life is best suited to bring this discipline in one’s life because Humans have been gifted with special kind of determination which empowers them to make choices based on right knowledge and right goal. Instinct vs. choice, as a human we have freedom to choose our response 

Different definitions of yoga from various yoga literatures. 

Patanjali and his yoga sutras – What is the meaning of sutra? Number of sutras. Why Patanjali codified this ancient wisdom into sutras?

Chitta – Understanding our inner layers of our personality which is formed by mind, intelligence and ego. And it is always in changing state due different modifications of the mind. 

Goal of yoga – Stilling the modification of mind and reaching the stage of pure consciousness which full of peace and bliss.

Vrittis – modification of the mind – Klishta Vrittis and Aklishta Vrittis (Favorable and unfavorable impressions in the mind). 

Different kinds of modifications of mind (Vrittis) – Pramana, Viparyaya, Vikalpa, Nidra, Smriti. Our mind has different kind of impressions, thoughts and modifications. Patanjali has categorized all these five into just five category and by knowing these five category, it will become easier to deal with them. 

Module 2 - History of Yoga

Challenge to find origin of Yoga – Due to the oral transmission of sacred texts and the secretive nature of the teachings the exact dates of the origins of yoga are difficult to verify.

Pre-Classical Yoga – 10,000 BC  –  500 BC

Vedas & Upanishads – The first written copies of the Vedas were found around 7500 years ago but it is believed they were there orally for much longer – up to 10 000yrs or even more.

Classical Yoga by Patanjali – 500BC approximately, Same time as Buddha, including yamas and niyamas which complemented Buddhas teachings. Yoga Sutras were written to explain the process and systematic analysis of practical methods for awakening and expanding the higher faculties of mind, intellect, quality of consciousness. 

Post-Classical Yoga (Hatha & Tantra) –  600 AD – 1500 AD
Systematic hatha yoga came about from 600 AD but references were found previously in the Upanishadas, Puranas. Matsyendranath and his disciple Gorakhnath, founded the Nath tradition. Gorakhnath was Swatmaram’s guru.

Modern Times – 1890’s until Present – Vivekananda, Paramahamsa Yogananda, Krishnamacharya and Swami Shivananda. In 1923 Krisnamacharya opened the first Hatha Yoga School in Mysore, South India.  Among his students were BKS Iyengar, Patthabi Jois and T.K.V. Desikachar (son).  Swami Chidananda & Swami Krishnananda – Divine Life Society. Swami Satyananda – Bihar School Swami Satchidananda – Integral Yoga, Swami Vishnudevananda – Shivananda Yoga Vedanta Centres. 

Understanding different Vedas other ancient eastern philosophical texts – Upanishads, Puranas, Dharma Shastras, Tantra, Pancha Ratras, Ramayana, Mahabharata and Bhagavad Gita. 

Shad darshanas – Six main philosophies of East which leads us to final goal of yoga, realizing the self. Mimansa, Nyaya, Vaisesika, Sankhya, Yoga, Brahama Sutras. 


Module 3 - shad Darshanas, Three modes, Kleshas

 Shad Darshanas (Six Main Philosophies of East) – Mimamsa, Vaisheshika, Nyaya, Sankhya, Yoga, Vedanta 

Understanding Sankhya Philosophy (Foundation of Yoga Philosophy) And Causes For Miseries – Purusha, Prkrati, Chita, Pancha Mahabhoota, Tan matras, Jnanendriyas, Karmendriyas. 

Tri Gunas – Three modes of Material nature – Sattva guna – Mode of Goodness, Rajo guna – Mode of Passion, Tamo Guna –  Mode of Ignorance. 

Qualities and characteristics of different modes 

How to increase Sattva guna – Platform to achieve real peace and happiness.

Kleshas (causes of pain and miseries) Avidhya, Asmita, Raga, Dvesha, Abhinivesha.


Module 4 - Favourable and Unfavourable things on the path of Yoga

Right Place for practising Yoga and Meditation.

Right kind of food for practising Yoga and Meditation.

Blind faith vs. Reasonable faith in Yoga Philosophy. 

Qualifications needed to become a disciple.

 Aims and objectives of Studying Yoga Philosophy – Knowledge, Understanding, Personal application, Teaching application, Theological application, Academic and Moral Integrity, Shastra Chakshu, Responsibility of learning, Faith and Conviction.

Favourable Things for progressing on path of yoga –Enthusiasm, Perseverance, Discrimination, Patience, Determination, Avoiding unfavourable association.

Unfavourable Things for progressing on path of yoga – Overeating, Over Endeavour, Gossiping, Not following the rules, Company of people who are against Yogic Life Style, Greed.

Obstacles on path of yoga – Vyadhi, Samshaya, Pramada, Avirati, Bhrantidarshana, Alabdha bhoomikatva, Anavasthitattva.


Module 5 — Eight Limbs of Raja Yoga given in Patanjali Yoga Sutras.

Yamas – Non-violence, Realism, Non-stealing, Sexual non-expressiveness, Non-possessiveness.

Niyamas – Shaucha, Santosha, Tapas, Swaadhyaaya, Ishvara Pranidhana.

Asana – Goal of Asana – steady and comfortable posture, Difference between asana and exercise, Benefits of doing asana, Precautions while doing asana.

Pranayama – Goal and definition of Pranayama, Benefits of Pranayama, Important Pranayama and their benefits.

Pratyahaara – Importance of Pratyahaara and, How to practice it in day to day life. 

Internal limbs – Three stages of meditation- Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi

4 Stages of Samadhi. 


Module 6 — Types of yoga.

Karma Yoga – Connecting with one’s own nature

Four Varnas (Occupation) and Four ashrams.

Yoga ladder – Going from Sakama Karma to Nishkama Karma.

What is Karma, Vikarma and Akarma? – Prarabdha, Aprarabdha, Kuta, Bija. 

Hatha Yoga –  What is the meaning of Hatha?, Understanding Ida, Pingala and Sushumna nadis (energy channels), Different aspects of Hatha yoga according to Hatha Yoga Pradipika, Asana, Pranayama, Mudra and Bandha, Shatkarma or Shat kriya – Six Cleansing Techniques –  Neti, Dhauti, Basti, Nauli, Kapal bhati, Trataka

Jnana Yoga – Vichara and Vivek, Triple basis of Vedanta, Shruti — Scriptures, Yukti — Reason, Anubhavam — Experience, Seven Bhumikas — Gives measuring stick with which to gauge the progress of spiritual aspirant, Subecha, Vicharana, Tanumanasa, Sattvaapatti, Asamsakti, Parartha-Abhavini, Turiya.

Bhakti Yoga – What is Bhakti – devotion?, Mixed Love vs. Pure Love, Nine processes of Bhakti – hearing, chanting, remembering, serving the feet, offering worship, offering prayers, becoming the servant, becoming the best friend, surrendering everything, Nine Stages Of Bhakti. 


Module 7 - Kundalini Yoga and Chakras

What is Kundalini? 

How to awaken Kundalini?

Understanding different chakras – Mooladhara chakra, Swadhishthana chakra, Manipura chakra, Anhata Chakra, Vishuddhi chakra, Ajnana Chakra, Saharara Chakra. 

Different asanas and pranayama recommended for opening different chakras. 


Let's Talk

Let Me Assist You
in Your Growth.

Book Your Free Session